SFL Communications

October 29, 2018

The Simulation Football League is proud to announce the SFL Honors winners for Season 11, leading up to the Championship Game.

LEAGUE MVP: Tallahassee RB Jaye Eniola (by 2 votes)

The league’s new single-season rushing record holder – Tallahassee’s Jaye Eniola – has won MVP, after votes from over 100 league members came through over the last week. Eniola set the record and then crushed it, running for 2,387 yards and a league-high 22 touchdowns. Eniola led Tallahassee to a 10-2 record in the regular season and has the Pride back into the Championship Game for the second-straight season. In just his second season in the league, Eniola is in the top 20 all-time in rushing yards and touchdowns.

OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Alaska QB Ron Cockren (by 27 votes – Eniola elevated to MVP)

The gunslinger from the great Northwest is back on top of league honors winning Offensive Player of the Year. Cockren threw for 4,354 yards – second in the league – completing a league high 76% of his passes. Cockren finished with the league’s highest quarterback rating (99.6). In his last game, Cockren became the 14th player in SFL history to pass for over 13,000 yards (13,010). His 1,321 completions ranks 10th all-time. He’s quarterbacked the Storm to an unbeaten season as Alaska defends its title.

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Alaska DT Alex Domignuez (by 37 votes)

The league’s all-time leader in sacks just seems to be getting better and better. “Big Sexy” set a professional football record this season with 38.5 sacks. He has 110 sacks over his unbelievable career, gobbling up sacks from the rest of his teammates. Domignuez also just recently passed Rick O’Riley’s No. 1 ranking in tackles for loss, now with 146 in his career. Dominguez has been the lynchpin in the Storm’s success over the last two seasons, moving from Defensive End back to his original Defensive Tackle position in the off-season.

OFFENSIVE ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: Houston QB Kentez Johnson (by 37 votes)

Kentez Johnson started his SFL career with a notable injury in the pre-season, but finished his rookie campaign dominating defenses and winning Offensive Rookie of the Year. Johnson finished fourth in the league in passing yards (3,573), leading the Houston Hyenas back to the semifinals for the second-consecutive season. Johnson had arguably the best season under center than any other Hyena player in franchise history and certainly lived up to his first-round-pick expectations.

DEFENSIVE ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: Indianapolis DT EZ Tempel (by 6 votes)

EZ Tempel burst onto the scene the second half of the season, when Indianapolis’ defense really got going. While Indianapolis struggled offensively, Tempel became the team’s unquestioned on-the-field leader recording 24.5 sacks, which ended up being second most in the league behind Dominguez. Tempel had a record eight sacks against St. Louis and followed that up with four the following week against Vancouver.

OWNER OF THE YEAR: Baltimore’s Tim Johnston and Thomas Paterniti (by 14 votes)

SFL Baltimore came back into the league in a big way this season, led by veterans Tim Johnston and Thomas Paterniti, who was elevated to co-ownership mid-season. Johnston and Paterniti led a super active locker room and fanbase on and off the field to a 9-3 record. The team got the most out of new rookies T-Roy Gaines and Aman Takess, who turned into mainstream SFL personalities. GM Garren Malone had a successful first front-office season under their leadership and their contributions to the league throughout the season were, as they always have been – valuable.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Alaska’s Max Paul (by 34 votes)

An incredible season for Alaska, Max Paul hasn’t lost since February. The Storm’s undeniable grit – especially over the last three weeks winning three games by one possession each – has clearly been present in this team for quite some time. In the Championship, Max Paul will be trying to do what no other coach has been able to do in league history: win back-to-back Championships. The Storm ranked No. 1 in scoring offense, 3rd down conversion % and was second in defensive points per game and first downs allowed, behind Queen City.

GENERAL MANAGER OF THE YEAR: Houston’s Ryan Karpinski (by 6 votes)

Known best for his player on the field Ryan Michaels, Karpinski helped Houston to one of – if not the most – impressive season on and off the field in franchise history. He has kept a top 10 chat ranking during nearly his entire tenure in the SFL community. This award comes as a huge honor – going out on top of sorts – after Karpinski took the Assistant Director of Player Personnel job within the league office after Houston was eliminated in the semifinals by Alaska.

COMMUNITY AMBASSADOR OF THE YEAR: Baltimore’s T-Roy Gaines (by 1 vote)

In the final hour, Gaines won the award over London’s Nathan Blake, for his outstanding efforts outside the community to grow the league, specifically on social media where he wears his SFL and Baltimore Vulture colors loud and proud. Gaines joined the broadcast team this season as well, getting a chance to call a playoff game, establishing a rapport with play-by-play commentator Demond Simien. The league needs more players like him.

TEAM COMMUNITY RELATIONS AWARD: Baltimore Vultures (by 3 votes)

MOST MEMORABLE MOMENT OF THE YEAR: Opening Night at the SFL Convention (by 15 votes)

GAME OF THE YEAR: Dallas comes back from 21 down to knock Tallahassee from its undefeated perch (by 7 votes)